top of page
  • 50thpainfantry

Flint Ridge Hopewell, Carter County Kentucky


This outstanding piece of prehistory was found in Carter County Kentucky, on my own family farm, in 2017.


It was very hot and dry, but several weeks before, we had a torrential downpour, which no doubt exposed this piece. I was walking along the rim of one of our ponds, and saw this laying right smack on top of the dirt. After several high pitched un-manly squeals, I swooped it up and ran back towards home as fast as my 15 year old legs could carry me. This was the first arrowhead I've ever found, and it wasn't my last.


It is made of Flint Ridge chert, a special variety that is sourced way up north in Ohio. It is typed as a Hopewell, and measures 2.5 in. long, and 1 in. wide. It is also very thin and well made. Still sharp too!

10 views0 comments
bottom of page